Ballerina

My choice of dolls revealed inner levels of desire and maturity. There were many bald diaper clad baby dolls with open mouths for insertion of bottles. I wrapped them in receiving blankets, pretending to feed and burp them. My parents gifts of doll cribs and carriages were places I bedded them down for naps or a good night’s sleep. I wanted to marry one day and be a real mommy.

Nannette was a large bride doll with big beautiful eyes and a head of curly brunette hair. Dressed in a white bridal gown she had no need of diapers or baby bottles. I was growing up and my choice of dolls revealed changes I did not even realize. I have a snapshot in my family album of my last doll. At the age of ten or eleven Mom & Dad filled my Christmas wish. I found a ballerina doll under our tree.

My ballerina was dressed in attire for a formal ballet. From head to toe, she was a dancer! Her hair was styled in a bun and she wore satin pink ballet shoes upon delicate feet. She was no dolly; no, she was a dream come true. I could pose her or twirl her around and proudly positioned her in the middle of my bed as a decoration in the bedroom.

David proudly and passionately danced unto the Lord. “And David was dancing before the Lord with all His might, and David was wearing a linen ephod (2 Samuel 6:14 NAS).” He moved his feet as instruments of praise and rejoicing. He could not stand still! There were no cheering crowds with shouts of Bravo. He heard his rapid heart beats instead,  Hosanna!

Leave a Reply

