not good enough

lately the enemy has been trying to convince me that i am not capable of doing anything. that i don’t have a “sweet enough” personality, that i will never become the dancer i dream of being, that i am not reaching people for the lord, that i will never do much for the kingdom of God. he has even been working on me over the past year through blogging.

i haven’t written on this (or my personal) blog in MONTHS because i felt like i never had anything worthy of blogging. quite frankly, i felt dumb for even considering writing my thoughts out thinking that no one would even be affected by them. how foolish. God doesn’t want us to be consumed by what we are doing for other people- he wants us to have our eyes so focused on him that other people want to know why we aren’t shaken by the things of this world. he wants our hearts so completely wrapped up in him that we aren’t even thinking twice about whether or not we are “doing enough” for the kingdom- we know that we are living our lives fully for his glory. that’s all he wants. is you.

i was recently talking with a friend about how messed up i have been feeling and she told me about a sermon she heard. the pastor said something like “God does not hand over power to satan. God allows things to happen in our lives to teach us, but the enemy only has as much control as you give him.” i realized that the reason why i was feeling so weird and discouraged and just not myself was because i was allowing satan to mess with the way i saw myself, which made the feelings of “not-good-enough” come to the surface.

so stay strong. i know i am only a 17 year old who hasn’t even made it out of high school yet, so this might not really mean anything to many people, but just know that you are worth more than you know. you can be whatever you want to be and you can achieve the seemingly impossible because of our POWERFUL and gracious God.

for the word of God is living and powerful! It is sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the dividing of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intentions of the heart. hebrews 4:12

andrea

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sistah with A Vision
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 03:14:05

    The devil is a lie. Don’t ever think you are not good enough You are a Child Of God everything and everything he create is GOOD he make no mistakes. Blessings to you and welcome back

    Reply

  2. Sistah with A Vision
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 03:15:24

    (typo) I mean everybody

    Reply

  3. thinkonitbible
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 04:18:32

    Andrea,
    Let say God used your post to confirm His prompting in me. Being is what He desires from us. Wholly focused on Him that He may lead us in His purposes. One thing I have learned is “there’s no condemnation in Christ to those walking by the Spirit” when I allow myself to walk after the flesh/world/emotions I feel condemed. But when I reminde myself of His promises there is great koy & life

    Reply

  4. Dorci Harris
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 05:45:12

    Amen. In fact, I think the reason the enemy works so hard to make us believe we’re useless is because he’s threatened by our usefulness.

    Reply

  5. slightlymadmum
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 12:41:40

    Hi Andrea. I am a 37 year old and I still struggle with these exact feelings! DAILY! Thank you for reminding me that I am enough when I focus on the great I Am, our Father God, who created us the way we are for a reason; to love him, to walk in his ways and to be in relationship with him. As we do this, we become the sweet fragrance of Christ to others that we long to be.

    Bless you, beautiful woman of God. You are exactly who you were meant to be; don’t try to be anyone or anything else! Keep on trusting in what you know to be true, especially when the ‘feelings’ start to pull you down.

    Blessings, Helen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

