Boo-hoo

Boo-hoo! Who-you? Are you a melancholy mess or a rejoicing rescuer? Our attitudes both attract and repel. Do I sing the blues in difficult times or sing praises to my deliverer? People are watching each of us even when we are unaware.

Are they observing a recounting of troubles or counting of blessings? I can rejoice even if reason makes it appear highly unlikely and unwarranted. “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus (1 Thessalonians 5:16-17 NIV).”  

I can shed tears of joy! Who-me? I will stock up on Kleenex, count my blessings, and raise prayers of confession, praise and thanksgiving. The Holy Spirit sweeps aside my melancholy mess and dresses me in party clothes! God, your will be done…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SWV
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 04:19:16

    Reblogged this on Sistah With A Vision.

    Reply

  2. CBM
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 05:22:06

    Very well said. May we always rise above our situation and circumstances while giving honor and glory to God and being a light that shines brightly for others.

    Reply

  3. Jo Edmondson
    May 09, 2012 @ 17:45:43

    May we realize that it’s not about us, anyway. Reacting God’s way is how He can expand His kingdom on Earth. It took me years to learn this truth. He had to humble me in so many ways first, though. I guess all of us have to go through God’s stripping process in order to crucify the flesh & become alive by His Spirit. Thanks for the word.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

