No need to beg, just ask!

I have the most wonderful husband.  As the spiritual head of our home, he is supportive and caring, and generally doesn’t put his foot down too often. But there is one thing that he absolutely insists that I do not do – buy presents for my kids’ birthdays in advance!  You see, Phil knows only too well that days, maybe a week, after I’ve squirrelled the gift away it will be retrieved and delivered into their eager hands much earlier than planned.  

Now, I know that I’m not alone in this, and in defence of all early-gift-givers, can I say it’s really not our fault!  Anyone who has ever given a gift to a child before will testify that the joy on their faces is the greatest gift a parent can receive.  And how do we know that we will receive this reaction?  Quite simply, we know our kids and the things that they like – it might be a long-yearned for doll or skateboard, or perhaps we have chosen something they have never before seen or experienced.  Either way, we know that they will be blessed through the gift we bring!  

It was with some surprise then that God pulled me up just this morning on his attitude to blessing me, his child.  My prayer was, “God I know I don’t deserve it, but I would really like to be blessed today, if that’s okay?”  Immediately the scripture from Matthew 7 came to my mind, 

9 “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

Th revelation to my was huge!  I’ve been a Christian for nearly 30 years, yet still I equate the blessings of God with how good or bad I am!  My kids are not always little angels, in fact sometimes quite the opposite!  But that doesn’t mean that I refuse to see them blessed with gifts or hugs or kisses or my presence!  They don’t have to beg and grovel for my love because of their moments of disobedience or rebellion.  They are just kids!  They are learning, and I love them unconditionally!

In the same way, we are children of God, loved by him unconditionally and blessed over and over again because of this love, and in spite of our failings.

You don’t need to beg for God to bless you.  Just ask, and you can be sure that his blessings are already on their way!

Leave a Reply

