Rest on the Promises of God.

The other day my kids wanted to watch a movie. Amid the cries of “Yes, this one,” and “No, that one,” I happened across the story of Joseph.  Having always loved the story of Joseph as a young girl, and thought I’d sit and watch the movie with my eldest boy.

Now I am a bit of a softy when it comes to ‘feelgood’ movies, so by the time Joseph was embracing his brothers, I was a complete mess of tears and tissues!  I wasn’t sure what set me off; the artistry of the pictures? the haunting musical score? Or was there a spiritual connection that I had not expected from a kids’ movie?

If I’d been in any doubt of the spiritual connection at the time, God certainly confirmed it the next day when I sat down to read my daily devotional, and the reading was from the story of Joseph!  There are many wonderful lessons from Joseph’s life that I could share, but there is one that is my favourite: that I can trust God to use all situations for my good, and the good of His Kingdom.

I think it’s pretty safe to assume Joseph didn’t expect God’s plan for his life to include being thrown down a well and then sold into slavery by his brothers! One can imagine the frustration and anger Joseph felt towards them, and also towards God at his apparent lack of intervention. In hindsight, however, it is clear to see that God had orchestrated the events to bring Joseph to the exact place He needed him to be, not only for Joseph’s benefit, but for the future of Israel as a nation.

Sometimes I feel a lot like Joseph. Granted I’ve not have been sold into slavery, but the daily trials and tribulations can be relentless, stifling my spirit and causing me to wonder if God’s put me on hold and forgotten me! But no matter how hard things get, I know in my spirit that I can rest in the knowledge that God is all powerful, and a keeper of his promises.  And he promises us in Romans 8:28 that in every situation, he “works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” (NIV)

I pray that whatever trials you are facing at the moment, you will know the peace and rest of God in your spirit as you trust in His direction and guidance.

Blessings.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam Ford Davis
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 11:03:56

    Yes, Yes! Joseph’s story is such an inspiration and encouragement. Romans 8:28 becomes even more powerful when linked with verse 29. God’s biggest blessing through our trials is the knowledge He uses them to mold us into the image of his Son!

    Pam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

