Tuning Up

Have you ever sat in front of a live orchestra or band, and listened as they tuned up their instruments? It’s usually not a very pleasant sound, but in a few minutes glorious music fills the room. I have never learned to play a musical instrument. In fact, my music teacher at school once told me I could not take lessons, because I had not comprehended the reading of musical notes. I’ve always wished I could play, and confess at times I feel a little envious of those who do.    

Well, not long ago I heard something that really got my attention. We are urged to avoid using our mouths tearing people down by sharing gossip. (James 3:9-10) The speaker went on to explain, we could magnify God by submitting our mouths as instruments of praise.  Wow, I can play an instrument; you can too! “I will give thanks to the Lord with all my heart; I will tell of all Thy wonders. I will be glad and exult in Thee; I will sing praise to Thy name, O Most High (Psalm 9:1-2 NAS).” Let’s tune up our instruments and in unity praise God in perfect harmony!

Leave a Reply

