A Christmas Reminder

My family and I were watching a Christmas episode of “Little House on the Prairie” last night. I love that series. There are so many valuable life lessons to take from it. Anyways, they were sitting around the fire together reminiscing about Christmases in the past. They showed things like Ma getting potatoes from Mr. Edwards (a rare treat), Hester Sue receiving ONE beautiful doll as her only Christmas gift, and Laura and Mary getting excited over their very own cups to use and a piece of candy and mittens.

As we watched from our comfortable two-story house full from a nice big dinner, we all felt spoiled. And it was good for us. It is so good to be reminded from time to time that we are blessed above and beyond. Don’t you think? We (as a people) can get to feeling so entitled that it’s good to be knocked down a notch or two from time to time.
Here I am planning on making numerous Christmas goodies in a few weeks, and the Ingalls’ girls were excited over one piece of candy. I can go to the grocery store any day of the week and have my choice of aisle after aisle of produce, cans, fruits, meats, and vegetables. And yet Ma was practically brought to tears to be brought some potatoes.

It wasn’t just a show. It was a reminder of a way of life. Our ancestors worked so hard to get what they had. In this particular show, the family all got snowed in. The storm put a barn board through their window and broke it. Did Ma get all upset that her window was broken and she’d have to pay for a new one? No. She just immediately set about cleaning up the glass while Pa and Almonzo secured the window shut. And because they had unexpected guests sleeping over, were they whining that they didn’t have enough beds and the men had to fall asleep at the kitchen table? Did Ma complain that she really didn’t plan on feeding that many people? No. They were just so blessed to be all together. They loved each other and were so full of that love that it erased any discomforts or minor nuisances that invaded their plans.

I want to be full of that love. I want to smile when friends or family grace my home instead of stressing about what to feed them. I want to make those who enter my house feel as comfortable as possible, but instead of fretting over not having a big enough table, or worrying that I have to put people on the floor to sleep, I want to have enough love in my home that it will overcome any physical drawbacks. I want people to be drawn to me, because of the love that my family and I show them.
This is who I want to be. This is who I want my family to be.

I want to remember and be reminded to be thankful, feel blessed, and to simply love – forgetting minor inconveniences. I want to treasure the simple and the pure of heart.

Yes, it’s good to be humbled sometimes. It’s good to be reminded. I’m so thankful that this show did that for me last night.
~ Dionna Sanchez is Founder of the EmphasisOnMoms.com ministry.

Leave a Reply

