WHY ARE WE SO AFRAID?

“Am I dying,” I asked the doctor, “because my body is falling apart?”

He gently smiled and comforted me with a confident, “No.”

As my health worsened questions about the future raced in my head: Will I be like this the rest of my life? Will I ever walk again? Will Normal ever come? Will God answer my prayer?

Have you ever been overcome with fear?

It’s paralyzing at times, isn’t it? Despite our best efforts to generate happy-go-lucky thoughts, sometimes life is HARD, and sweet musings never materialize.

If we’re not careful, we grow comfortable with the What Ifs and worry becomes our best friend–how difficult it is to divorce ourselves from those rambling thoughts!

My anxiety didn’t disappear overnight. After months–no, years–of prayer, confiding my fears to my husband, and learning to live moment by moment in the Lord, the worry subsided. It wasn’t easy; it was a process God allowed me to endure for the sake of relying on Him, even for my thoughts.

How about you, friend?

Has fear trapped your thoughts in a cage? Are you bound to worry and stress as you wonder what might happen?

Hear the truth of God:

“Strengthen the feeble hands, steady the knees that give way; say to those with fearful hearts, ‘Be strong, do not fear; your God will come.’” Isaiah 35:3-4.

Even though you may be alone with your thoughts, the Lord has not abandoned you!

Do you remember the timeless words of Jesus, spoken to the terrified disciples?

“You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Matthew 8:26

His calm reproval makes me feel silly for freaking out. Why are we not trusting Him? He is GOD. Our lives are in the Creator’s hands. Our hearts beat becaue He wills it! So, certainly our life’s problems are not impossible for Him.

My heart echoes the cry of the father who took his child to Jesus for healing,

“I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24)

With love and compassion,
Carrie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ronel Sidney
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 20:59:17

    What an amazing post, fear can be so consuming and debilitating. I have struggled with fear and have to work each and every day to NOT allow it to get me off track!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

