The heart of a servant

1 Peter 4:10: Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

I was sharing with a friend how my husband and I are settling in to the church near our new home. We weren’t sure we’d actually shift churches when we moved house but we’ve since decided that it’s the best thing for us.  As we grow older, the need for ‘local’ community becomes stronger and also, because of our new location (bushfire region) it’s important that we have local contacts and can gain local knowledge.  I’ve been going to this church on and off since May and my husband has begun coming to services too.  So we’re still very new there and getting to know people.

I told our friend that I am now looking after the (new) church website as it seemed to me they needed help in that area. And I could see other things I can become involved in as time goes by.  I was telling him I couldn’t help it – I like being involved and if I have the skills and knowledge for something, then I want to use them.  I guess I was sounding kind of apologetic for it.

His response startled me a bit as I hadn’t seen what had taken place in the same way he did.  I get worried that I might be too pushy or anxious to belong and get involved.  But that’s not how our friend saw it. He said I had a servant heart and that will always mean I’ll be involved in the Lord’s work.

Let’s look at that verse again.  1 Peter 4:10: Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

This is indeed what I have been doing. Simply using my gifts to help others where I see the help is needed.   If this means I have a servant heart, then so be it.   Do you use your gifts to help where needed?

A servant heart. What does that mean to you?

Leave a Reply

