What Makes You – You

I was thinking this morning while getting ready for my day. (Yes, that happens.) I was thinking about the time it takes me to get ready. You see, I have very straight hair. But I like curly hair. So I spend the time each morning to curl my hair to my specifications with a curling iron. Some people laugh at me for the time it takes me to get ready. Some people have opened their eyes in shock and astonishment and then told me that they get ready in 30 minutes.  But I’ve decided that that’s okay. Because I get lots of compliments on my hair. Lots. And I love it. It’s “me.” 
 
I may have to fuss on my hair a little bit more but it’s unique and it sets me apart from others. It’s part of what defines my look. 
 
So, what makes you “you?”  I know a gal who always seems to wear western handkerchiefs around her hair. I know someone else who has her hair flipped up and sprayed “just so.”  I’ve seen women who always wear cowboy boots and jeans, some who only love big huge jewelry and bangles, while others never adorn an earring, bracelet, or necklace.
 
The world seems to tell us to conform – to fit in. Be like everyone else. But it’s the people who know their sense of style and comfort that truly stand out. They are the ones that have defined their sense of image and people admire them for it.
 
Think of these people for a minute:
 
Dolly Parton.
 
Cher.
 
Tina Turner.
 
Princess Diana.
 
Reba McEntire.
 
Carrie Underwood.
 
Jennifer Aniston.
 
These women are all very distinct. Some because of their hair – some because of their style. But they stay true to what works on them and what makes them feel good.
 
We need to stop trying so hard to become like everybody else. It’s okay for others to inspire or motivate us, but we need to stay true to what we like. If you like hot pink nail polish – go for it! Wear it. It’s “you.”  If you like big western belts or always want to wear a headband – I say go for it keeping in mind your age and trying to stay appropriate within those parameters.   Just don’t let others make fun of you for liking something on yourself that is different from everyone else.  That’s part of what makes you – “you.” No one has the right to take that away.
 

~ You can learn more about what makes Dionna Sanchez tick by reading her blog at http://beautyinthestorm.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

