God’s Healing Power

It is so easy to get caught up in the busyness of life and grow a luke-warm heart when it comes to our Christian faith.  That happened to me right after I became a new bride and God got my attention.
 
I had gone to the doctor for a routine checkup only to have them discover a lump in my right breast. I went home in tears that day because I was afraid. I was afraid for the next week until I had to return for an ultrasound to be done.  They told me at that time that I had a very small cyst filled with liquid. I was to lower my caffeine intake, take Vitamin E and get re-checked in a month.  At that point, they would discuss my options such as just keeping an eye on it, having a biopsy done or having the liquid drawn out which would ease my fears of it turning into cancer or something.
 
That was a lot to think about at the young age of 23.  I felt like I saw life in a whole new light and I wanted to embrace each moment as if it were my last because I didn’t know what was around the corner.
 
The day came when I was to go back to the doctor. My husband told me that morning before going off to work that he would be praying and to let him know how it went.
 
When the doctor re-checked me she delivered a blessing from God to my ears. One that I never even contemplated or expected.  She told me that my cyst had disappeared!  There was no trace of a lump anywhere.
 
I drove straight to my husband at work. I remember running from my truck straight into his arms crying, “It’s gone!”  And it wasn’t until that moment that my husband told me what his prayers in private had been.  He had been the only one who had prayed for my cyst to completely disappear.  He had had the faith in God’s power and healing that I had failed to trust in.
 
God DOES answer prayers. He was very real to my husband and I on that day.  And although other health issues have come and gone since that day, God reminded me that He is with me always. He walks with me constantly.
 
I try to remember when I am undergoing a major challenge, stumbling block, or health crisis in my life to turn to God FIRST instead of last.  For He is the one who is really in charge.

~ Dionna Sanchez

http://beautyinthestorm.blogspot.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. theunconditionalway
    May 15, 2010 @ 19:24:10

    Glory be to the Father. He is the living God. He is with us when we pray, He hears our cries, and He knows our hearts. Truly the Lord walks with us. His hand of mercy held your heart close. Prayer is more than ritual, or words, it is an active conversation with the Almighty God. It is our ability to talk to our Father and our Friend. You have seen firsthand that God is with us in our prayers to Him. You have seen that He is an active Friend, a loving Father, and our living God. God Bless you and glory to the Father.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

