Pity or Praise?

 

What will your reaction be when trouble comes? It may show up on your doorstep tomorrow or be lurking in the darkness around the next corner. It is packaged in many different circumstances and you can not simply mark it “Return to sender.” Our true character is tested and revealed on the stage of life. There are no dress rehearsals! I firmly believe the old saying holds true, that trouble and problems “make you or break you”! Do you know we have a choice as to how we will respond? Even if our first impulse is panic, it does not have to be our last!

Confession is good for the soul and I confess that I am naturally a complainer. That is not a pretty word and pity is its closest friend. We complain because something goes against the grain. We have been “dealt a bad hand.” Life has been unkind; so we drown in self pity and grumble. That last word is even harder to swallow than complain. “Do all things without complaining and disputing (Philippians 2:14 NKJ).” Remember that group led by Moses out of the bondage of Egypt. Were they singing his praises? No, they grumbled, murmured and wanted to high tail it back to Egypt! (Exodus 17:1-3) Do I want to be remembered that way? No, I choose to keep working on that weakness with God’s help.

Have you known people who suffered great loss and repeated tragedy; and yet radiate peace? Likely we can think of one or more. Their choice is to trust God, not to blame Him or others. “Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength; He will make my feet like deer’s feet and He will make me walk on my high hills (Habakkuk 3:18-19 NKJ)!” It is amazing; the writer like Old Mother Hubbard went to the cupboard and found it bare! The crops were a failure. He found no meat on the table and hope seemed lost. Did he grumble? No, praise and rejoicing were the fruit of his lips! I want to choose praise and walk on those mountain heights. Just imagine the view!

Leave a Reply

