In a Spin!

I know how badly I need direction and guidance in the year ahead. A sense of direction is one of man’s greatest areas of weakness. So many of my prayers raised for those closest to me are for them to receive direction, wisdom and insight in decision making. There are so many critical choices daily. Lives can be changed drastically for them and those they influence.

Do you remember childhood games when you were spinning around in circles while wearing a blindfold? You twirled around and around until you became dizzy and disoriented. Your sense of direction altered totally. Friends giggled and jeered as you stumbled around groping in your private world of darkness. Soon your turn ended. They removed the cloth from your eyes and slowly your balance and sense of direction returned.

In our daily lives problems, stress, or temptations push our lives into a spin! It seems as if we are in darkness, unable to see the hand in front of our face. Where is God? What is His plan for me? What am I supposed to do next? Should I just “grin and bear it, keep a stiff upper lip?” Is life cruel fate, “What will be, will be?” Does God really care?

We can have God’s daily direction; His loving guidance is available. (Proverbs 3:5-6) He will direct our steps. God does care about me and my concerns. (Psalms 138:8, 1 Peter 5:7) Lord, I desire to keep my eyes open and on You. Keep me focused on the goal ahead in the New Year ahead. (Philippians 3:14)

Leave a Reply

