Are You Better Off?

For those of us married gals – I pose a question to you today. Before I ask it, I want you to remember how you felt when you were dating your spouse. How often you would go out of your way to do nice things for each other, you dressed your best and took special care of your appearance, and you remedied any arguments or disagreements as quickly as possible. Have things changed – and if so, why?

Yes, it takes a great deal of effort to continue to always put on your best behavior. And I have to say that there is something that makes me feel secure about being able to feel comfortable and normal with my husband without having to always be at my best. But, I do try to be at my best most of the time. I do it because I continue to care about our relationship and how he feels about me. I continue to look for new ways to encourage him, listen to him, and improve who I am as his wife. I want my husband to feel like his life is better, because of me.
Most of us tend to put so much of our efforts into raising our children. I would venture to say that at some point, (hopefully) our children will feel like better people because of the time, efforts, and love we put into raising them. And I know that for me, I feel like my children have bettered me. They have already taught me so much – sometimes it hurt – sometimes it was joyful to discover new things… but they have bettered me.
Have you and your husband bettered each other? Are you better people because of one another?

I think that’s how marriage should be. And in a day and age when so many people are quick to bail out, bash their spouses, or set demands and expectations that never can be met….a marriage that showcases a couple who looks out for one another, encourages one another, is there for each other through thick and thin — that is a marriage to emulate and admire. Our children need marriages like this to look at as examples of a healthy realtionship.
We can each better each other if we only try. And it can start in our homes with our spouse. Marriages are the foundation of our families – the atmsophere and attitudes trickle down into our children’s lives which then trickle out into society.
Give your marriage all you’ve got. If you start bettering one another, you never know – you may just better the world.
~ Dionna Sanchez is the Founder of EmphasisOnMoms.com
Visit today to sign up for her free monthly newsletter of encouragement to moms!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam Ford Davis
    Dec 20, 2009 @ 20:30:16

    We have our 42nd Wedding Anniversary Dec. 30th. Once we attended a large Christian Coalition meeting together. A friend commented noticing how we lit up when the other entered the room. My husband led me to the Lord before we were married. Trusting the Lord Jesus and making the wedding vows to Norm are the best things I ever did.

    Pam

    Reply

  2. Lou Jean Cannon
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 12:52:35

    Pam and Norm are dear friends of mine as well as
    faithful, serving Christians in our Church.
    When you read Pam’s writings you feel and know her heart.I Thank “OUR LORD” daily for her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

