Lion Chaser?

Benaiah chased a lion down into a pit. Then, despite the snow and slippery ground, he caught the lion and killed it.
II Samuel 23:20

I read a great book this week, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day, by Mark Batterson. The concept of the book is taken from a passage in II Samuel, a scripture that I might have read a time or two … but never really gave much thought.  This guy, Benaiah, was a valiant fighter who performed great exploits, according to the passage.  One day he actually chased a lion down into a pit and killed it.  I mean really?   He then went on to be in charge of King David’s Bodyguard and then Commander in Chief of King Soloman’s army.  Pretty impressive resume.

I wonder what he was thinking that day …  Hey, I think I’ll go kill myself a lion?

He actually chased the lion … and he won!  And he went on to have an amazing career in Israel’s army under the two most powerful Kings of all times!

David knew a little about lions and bears and giants. When he was pleading with King Saul to let him fight the giant, Goliath, he shared that he had actually killed a lion and a bear in his father’s pastures, while tending to the sheep.  Scripture tells us that David ran quickly towards Goliath that infamous day, and he won! (I Samuel 17).   And he went on to become King of Israel!

In his book, Mark says:  Your greatest regret at the end of your life will be the lions you didn’t chase. You will look back longingly on risks not taken, opportunities not seized, and dreams not pursued. Stop running away from what scares you most and start chasing the God-ordained opportunities that cross your path.

Your greatest regrets will be the lions you didn’t chase … I love that!

I don’t want regrets in my life.  I want to take the risks.  I want to pursue the dreams that God has given me.

I want to be a lion chaser.

Thank you Jesus for giving us dreams to pursue and lions to chase.  Help us Lord to not be complacent with status quo or comfortable.  Ignite that spark in each of our souls Lord to seek after YOU with our entire being.

   I love you Jesus!
   In your name I pray,
   Amen

God’s Blessings To You!

Love,
Joyce

Million Copy Giveaway!
Will you help?
http://www.alifedecision.org

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. business lending
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 06:14:43

    good site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

