Impressions ~ By Dionna Sanchez

2009 002Every home has an atmosphere within it. When you go to visit family and friends, it is so evident when you walk in the door that each home has its own flair, personality, and character.  It has its own “vibe” as you would say.
 
As we raise a family, it’s important for us to take a good look at what atmosphere we create within our home.  What impressions are we leaving on our kids?  And a good place to start is by looking at what is on our walls and what is on our children’s walls.  The things we surround ourselves with in our home are images that constantly integrate themselves into who we are and who we are shaping our children to be.
 
When I was growing up, my home – just as any other home – had lots of décor on the walls. Some in particular that I remember are a cross in my parents room with two wedding rings in the middle of it, a picture of the last supper, and a picture of an old man praying over bread and water. My mom gave me this picture a few years ago and I hung it in my kitchen. Do you know why I love it so? Because it is a reminder to me to be thankful for everything – even the small things. It reminds me to be humble and that God gives me all that I have.  Now what kind of an image do you think this will have on my children? I’m hoping it will be just as positive and warm as it was on my heart as I grew up.
 
We need constant reminders around us that show us who we belong to and what we want our lives to be about. If we fill our home with images that contradict what we say we believe in, those will make a stronger impact on our family than what we say.
There is a verse in the Bible in Deuteronomy that says, “Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”
 
To me, that verse means that not only can I say I believe in the Lord, but I need to talk about Him, live a life for Him, and let Him be reflected in me in my home. If I say I love the Lord but then let my child decorate her walls with dark images, I think that is contradictory – don’t you?
 
What are you reminded of when you look at your walls? It’s something to think about because those images are nurturing the family you love.
 
 
~ Dionna Sanchez is the Founder of the Emphasis On Moms Ministry at http://www.EmphasisOnMoms.com

Leave a Reply

