Overwhelmed By Love

Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God.  Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.
I John 4:7

Today I turned 50 years old. When I was a child, 50 seemed pretty old. As I’ve aged, the number still seemed to be a pretty significant number, in my mind. A couple of weeks ago, I was reminded that my birthday was approaching. I really didn’t want to think about it. I didn’t want to say I was 50 years old.

Maybe because if I was really 50, I shouldn’t still mess up so much?

Oh, I mean well, but some days I feel like a kid with my ups and downs and life stuff.

Maybe someone who is 50 should be more responsible – more mature.

Maybe being 50 would mean that I shouldn’t bounce so much?

Maybe it would mean that I shouldn’t drink too much coffee and be silly?

Maybe it would mean that I was on the ‘down’ side of life?

I’m not really sure what I thought would happen. I just knew I wasn’t looking forward to it.

What if? …  always an interesting question.

But then … I felt God saying to me .. “EMBRACE YOUR DAY … EMBRACE YOUR LIFE … EMBRACE ME!”

Okay … I can embrace God .. I want to embrace God. But … do I want to embrace 50?

Okay God … I’m diving into 50 – HEADFIRST!  It’s only a number, and if you gave me this number, for this day, for this year, for this time. I’M IN!

I accepted dinner out with my two best friends … MEXICAN … a good time PROMISED!

Okay … that was easy enough.

Dinner cooked by Bobby … I can invite a couple of friends … okay … I always enjoy that.

Then I decided all I really wanted for myself was to have a pedicure … I LOVE PRETTY TOES.

So … Thursday, after work, I went and got my Pedicure … and I was happy!

I came home to cards in the mail … surprise money! WOW … how very special that someone loved me enough to remember my birthday with a special gift.

Then my friend, who had had to leave the country suddenly two weeks before arrived back to her home. I was so excited to see her when I went to take care of her dogs. Even though she was leaving again shortly, I felt relief that she was back and ready to close the chapter of her life here in Naples.

I can go on and on …. from the time I awoke today, to even now sitting here on the couch beside my Bobby, I have been surrounded by love, people who I love, people who love me, people who love Jesus.

Dinner out with my friends turned into a WONDERFUL SPECIAL EVENING!  They threw me a surprise party and instead of dinner with 2, God turned it into a blessing of dinner with over 30!! I was tongue tied, I was so surprised. I’d never had anyone throw me a surprise party before and it was just the BEST evening … spending time with so many people that I love and appreciate!

I believe God gave me a glimpse of heaven today and I am so very thankful …GOD IS LOVE.

Today … LOVE FOUND ME.
TODAY … LOVE FLOWS FROM ME.

joyce and Deb

Father … thank you for filling me with LOVE … thank you for such a special family that you have given to me. Thank you JESUS for giving me a New LIFE through You.

And thank you to all my friends … I truly do love you!

God Bless you!

Love,
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

