A Chance To Be Different

God directed my attention to a set of Scripture verses this morning during my Bible Study time.

2 Timothy 3:1-5 says: “But mark this. There will be a terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God – having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.”

Wow. How relevant those words are!! If you ever doubt how close we are to the Lord coming again – all you need to do is read those words. For they describe the world we live in — the world we live in TODAY.

I was watching the “Today Show” this morning and they had a segment on “are we becoming too rude?” I wanted to say “DUH?” I mean, are people just now realizing this? The fact that people think it’s cool to act rebellious, that manners are rare and stand out instead of being the norm, or even the fact that everyone is in too much of a hurry to be polite and courteous to strangers anymore? They are just now seeing this?

And we’ve done it to ourselves. We have no one to blame but ourselves.

It’s not too late to change and make a difference though. As I was out today, God showed me that there is still good in the world and there are still good people out there. There was a man at the gas station who was getting gas right next to me. He smiled, whistled, chatted with me, and was just nice. Do you remember “nice?”

Do you know that no one ever speaks to me at a gas station? Not even to smile or say hello? This man stood out. And then after getting my groceries, I saw a man on the corner with a sign that he was ill and wanted money. I was just going to reach into my purse and give him a couple of dollars when I saw a man approach him, bend down on his knees and start thumbing through dollar bills in his wallet. Let me tell you – I got tears in my eyes! Do you know that this is the first time I have ever seen someone do this?? It stands out.

Oh why have our hearts grown so cold? Why are we so protective of what we’ve got that we’ve lost touch with what others don’t have anymore?

Since when did it become “cool” to not be polite? Or fashionable to not care?

The holidays are here. And I know how rude people can be at this time of year. But we have a chance to make this season mean something different for us this year – and possibly mean something different to someone else, as well. How about letting that driver cut in, in front of you? How about picking up your trash, giving away a little money to someone who needs it, obeying your parents, having self control (and feeling good about it), thinking of others before yourself, being slow to anger (or letting an issue go altogether), and encouraging others?

The Lord IS coming again. And it’s sooner than we think or realize. I don’t want to be the person He speaks about in 2 Timothy. Do you?

 

~ Dionna Sanchez

Grab a graphic for your blog!
http://www.emphasisonmoms.com/graphics.htm

Leave a Reply

