I Get Distracted Easily

I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God as called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 3:14

The boys are and I were sitting on the couch last night, talking about Chase’s reading goal for the summer. Last year, his goal was to read 50 books before his birthday in August, to get the Wii he so desperately wanted.

We’d been talking about a goal for this summer, but he hadn’t found anything that he wanted to work for, until today. Earlier, he’d been at a friend’s house playing Guitar Hero and Chase decided he wants one for his own. He loves singing 80’s rock music. The Eye of the Tiger is constantly booming from his computer. He is Bobby and I’s son, no doubt of that.

In the midst of our conversation, Carson piped up that he wanted to be a part of the mix. Now, Carson can read a very large book in a very short time, reading is not a challenge for him. Chase, on the other hand, doesn’t enjoy reading as much. He can and will read, but it takes more effort for him to do so.

As we were talking about Carson getting invovled in the contest and his ability to read quickly, Chase blurted out, “I like to read, but I get distracted easily.”

And that is the truth. Chase will read a couple of pages, then he’s off doing something else. Carson, well, Carson can read for a very long time. While he’s walking, upside down, in the dark .. he doesn’t care. He just loves books. When Carson is reading … nothing and noone can distract him. He is focused.

Sometimes in my walk with Jesus, I am like Carson, focused … nothing can take my attention away from him. Then, other days, I’m like little Chase … I get distracted easily.

Chase hit his goal last year … he actually read 53 books, more than what was required. It wasn’t easy for him, but he persevered and it paid off. I was so proud of his effort.

I want to persevere through the times of challenge and hit my goal … I want to live my life, The Jesus Way. At the end of the journey, I want Him to say … “Well Done!”

Jesus, thank you for giving Chase the ability to persevere through something that is difficult for him. It’s easy to do easy things … it’s not so easy to do the things that challenge us. Help me Father to embrace the challenge of each new day, living life focused on You.

I love you Jesus!
In Your Name I pray,
Amen

God Bless You!
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrows!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Life is not about waiting for the storms to pass…
it’s about learning to dance in the rain!

Leave a Reply

