Being Better

I spend a lot of time on Sunday nights, sharing with our ladies group about being better. We’ve been going through Matthew 5,6, and & 7, The Sermon on the Mount. Jesus was teaching his disciples how to walk His way … not the way of the world.

They used to be one way … but Jesus is instructing them to be different, to be set apart from the world.

I spent a good part of my life, living in the world. The things that I did were not of Jesus. Then one day, I met Jesus. I fell in love with Him, with all He stood for. And I let Him teach me how to be better. Not better than someone else, but better than the me I was before.

We can’t work our way into heaven, it’s by God’s grace that we receive forgiveness and salvation. (Ephesians 2:8,9)

Paul tells us in Galatians 5, the acts of the sinful nature are obvious and those who live like that will not inherit the kingdom of God. His list includes: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.

But the fruit of the spirit … that is what comes forth from us, when Jesus lives and rules in us. Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control.

I want the Jesus fruit … not the world’s way … I want to be better … because of Him.

Father, thank you for giving us the greatest example of how to be better. Thank you for giving us your spirit, to live in us and to work through us to enable us to live our lives in a way that glorifies you. Father thank you that we are in this world, but we don’t have to partake in it. That you have made a way for us to be set apart. Thank you Jesus for helping me to be better … better today than I was yesterday.

I love you Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

