Growing Strong

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
Philippians 1:6

Last night the boys and I were coming back from our walk and as I walked down the driveway, I noticed once more, how large our palms had become. I asked Chase if he knew the story behind the palms, he didn’t, so I shared it with him.

Fourteen years ago, I bought 40 Royal Palm plants. Now, looking at them, you wouldn’t know they were Royal Palms, they looked like a 10 inch blade of grass. But the man promised me they’d grow into trees, so I brought them home.

Bobby and I nurtured those plants, they were our babies as Carson and Chase hadn’t come along yet. We watered, and fertilized them, repotting them each time they grew too large for the pot they were in. A frost came one night, when we weren’t prepared, and wiped out over half of them. We ended up with 16 strong trees to plant along our driveway.

Two hundred feet of hose allowed us to continue to bring the water to them and Carson and I spent hours out there watering those trees during the dry season.

A couple of years ago, I went to get the mail and noticed one of our trees had died. It made me sad … it had looked fine on the outside, but a decay had formed inside and choked the life out of it.

The growth of the palm trees is such a special example to me, of our walk with Jesus. Those trees started out as fragile sprigs, but after years of nurturing, they are now strong vital trees, able to survive the storms. We start out with fragile sprigs of faith, maybe just a glimmer of hope in us. But with constant nurturing, from God and from others who have walked the path before us, we can grow into strong trees of faith. The storms will still come, but we will be able to withstand them.

Our Palm Trees

Father, thank you for letting me see your hand in everything around me. Thank you for protecting me from the freezes and the decay that has tried to steal me from you. And Lord Jesus, thank you for loving me, first!

I love you Jesus!
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrows!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

