A Work In Progress

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
Philippians 1:6

The other night, when our friends were visiting, Zeke made his appearance towards the end of the evening. He’d been in my room most of the night, one of our guests was afraid of dogs, so I knew better than to try to subject her to Zeke. Even though he is a big baby, his size is intimidating. But after she left, I decided to let Zeke out. He’d been fussing at the door for quite some time and I knew he needed some freedom. My other friends are dog lovers, so it was fine with them.

As Zeke made his rounds from person to person, giving them wet kisses and thumps with his tail, my friend, Deb, commented that he was being better behaved then other times she’s been around him.

I said, “Yes, Zeke is getting better, he’s a work in progress. He’s not like he used to be, but he’s not where he needs to be either.”

Ummmmmm … boy, doesn’t that describe me.

I am not like I used to be; a life filled with sin, drugs, alcohol. You name it, I was doing it. I love Jesus now. He’s in my heart. He’s my life. But I’m not where I need to be either. There is still a lot of work to be done in me, through Jesus.

I am not giving up on Zeke … Jesus is not giving up on me.


Father, thank you for promises that I can make claim to and live for. Thank you for beginning a good work in me, I am so enjoying the journey. And Jesus, thank you for giving me that big ole goofy dog who loves me unconditionally.

I love you Jesus!
In your name I pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joynunes
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 17:39:18

    Great article,
    God spoke to me through these words you wrote. Am sure you blessed not just me, but many who read it.

    God bless,
    Joyce Nunes

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 16:51:20

    Just watched Marley & Me this weekend! this so reminded me of that movie. And I also have a chocolate lab. We sure can learn alot by observing God’s creation. Thanks for the reminder, He is not finished with me either.
    Terri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

