When The Parent Feels Like a Child

My daughter fainted at school on Monday. We are not quite sure yet why it happened. I know that she is in God’s hands and I have faith in Him even though I fear for her. I am trying not to panic.

It’s hard as a parent when you know you are the one who is turned to for guidance and strength and support. Yet sometimes we feel so small and weak, don’t we? There are times when we don’t have all of the answers and we just wish that someone would wrap their arms around us, tell us it will be okay, and take care of things for us.

My husband leaves in a little over a week for a month long stay in Africa. I am supposed to be strong here at home. Take care of everything, provide for my girls, offer them safety and security – while daddy is far away. Yet I don’t, and won’t, feel safe and secure the whole time. I will miss the security he provides in our home. I will have questions about decisions that need to be made in his absence and I will feel like crying at times out of exhaustion and longing.

What do we do in times like these when we feel like a small child? We are supposed to be the adults. Regardless of how old we are, how much experience we have “lived” in life, or how mature we are – we all feel insecure and inept at times. We all desire to have our problems, fears, and issues placed in hands stronger, more wise, and trustworthy than our own.

I know that I have a Heavenly Father who is all of these things and more to me. He doesn’t laugh at me for feeling fearful. He doesn’t scorn me for not acting my age, or for getting emotional at times. He is simply there for me with His open arms, His gentle words, and His guiding strength. I never have to navigate through my challenges and trials alone. And I’m so glad. Because there are those weak or overwhelming moments in my life where I just don’t know what to do. It is in these moments, that I call out to God and ask Him to be real to me – to reach down to me – and to take care of me.

Do you know what? He always does. Maybe not in the way I would have imagined or hoped. But He has never failed me. Not once.

We don’t have to have it all together. We don’t have to know all of the answers. We don’t have to be super strong all of the time. We can be real and transparent with God – sharing our fears, our failures, our hurts, and our disappointments with Him. That’s what He’s there for.

When we can lay down our pride long enough to realize we need Him, I think we will find the strength, peace, contentment, and hope that we search for as a parent.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Note: This post was written a few years ago. Thankfully, my daughter was determined to be okay.

~ Dionna Sanchez is vulnerable with her life so that in some way, she can help and encourage others. You can read more about her on her blog at: http://emphasisonmoms.blogspot.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 16:57:53

    Thank you! My Family is moving to Arizona, my husband is leaving next week, while I stay in MI w/ my girls until they finish school. You wrote my story, exactly! God has perfect timing as usual!
    God Bless, Terri

    Reply

  2. Dionna
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 21:03:33

    I am so glad Terri. I know this must be a challenging time – but you WILL get through it and learn valuable lessons along the way!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

