Lessons From Publix

You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature, rather, serve one another in love.
Galatians 5:13

This week our church family participated in a project called SERVOLUTION. We divided into five teams and went out into our community to serve others. A free gift to another, no strings attached. The purpose was to simply share the love of Jesus, take on his servant heart. The project I was involved with was helping people with their shopping carts at Publix. Sounds easy enough …

When someone walked out of the story, one of our team would ask them if they could take their groceries to the car. And nine times out of ten, the answer was, “No … I’ve got it.”

Ummmm … this was interesting. Not very many people wanted to receive our gift. I guess they thought there were strings attached. But every now and again, someone would let us, and off we’d go, pushing their cart and sharing why we were doing this service.

At one point in the morning, I decided that if the people wouldn’t let me push their cart to their car, I would ask them if they minded if I walked with them, so I could take their cart back to the store. They were fine with that plan and I met the sweetest woman through this experience. As we talked by her car, a tear slipped down her cheek and I ended up giving her a hug when we said good-bye.

The original NO she had given me had turned into a very sweet yes!

This experience, although designed to be a simple blessing to another, turned into a wonderful object lesson for me.

God has a gift of salvation for each of us. He wants to freely give it, but how many refuse to accept it. They are afraid that there may be strings attached. We couldn’t force those people to allow us to help them … God doesn’t force us to receive him.

I never gave up asking to help, regardless of how many no’s I received. But after a time, I realized that my main objective was to simply talk to the people, if they wouldn’t let me help them with their cart, that was okay. I could still chat a bit with them. Not getting into their space, not pushing myself on them, just being friendly to them. They enjoyed that.

If I want to share the love of Jesus with others, I need to build a relationship with them. I can’t just force him upon them, but through the process of being kind and loving to them, they will see Jesus through me.

I want to encourage you today … join the SERVOLUTION … as you serve another, God’s blessings will pour down upon you!

Father, thank you for this opportunity to serve others … to serve you. Jesus, I pray that hearts were touched this week for you. That lives are changed because of you. Thank you Jesus for being the greatest example of a servant for us to follow. And Jesus, thank you for loving me, first.

I love you Jesus!
In your name I pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

