Missing Out On The Strawberries

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus.
Philippians 2:5

Last Sunday, Chase came home from church with an attitude. Apparently, his daddy had been playing a game with he and Carson and in Chase’s mind, Bobby had given Carson special treatment, and Chase was not happy. And he pouted about it all the way home. Now usually it’s pretty easy to get Chase back to his happy go lucky self, but he had gotten himself so worked up, letting his emotions snowball, nothing was making him happy. When he got home, he ran into his bedroom and slammed the door shut.

I wonder why we slam doors when we are upset? Do we think that will help? I always do it too, so I’m not picking on Chase, just wondering?

I made lunch for everyone, but Chase was being stubborn and he would not come to the table and eat. I had cut up a couple of quarts of fresh strawberries and I thought for sure that would get him out of his room. He loves strawberries! They are his favorite. But no, he let Carson and Bobby eat the whole bowl, he would not even come out for strawberries.

He was pouting and as a result of it, he missed out on something good today.

I wonder how many times I’ve missed out on the blessings that God wanted to give me, because I was off pouting about something that someone else did or said to me? I wasn’t ready to receive what God had for me, because I had my head wrapped around some negative thought that wasn’t even real, or because I was too caught up in feeling sorry for myself. And God was standing there saying, “Hey, I’ve got some great stuff over here for you.” But I missed out on something good, because I was too caught up in me.

Father, forgive me when I let the cares of the world distract me from you. Help me Lord to turn away from the negatives of life and keep my eyes focused on what you would have for me. And Father, thank you for healing Chase’s little heart and putting a smile back on his face.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

The Choices We Make Today …
Will Affect Our Tomorrow
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

