Counterfeit Christians

Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’
Matthew 7:22-23

I heard a message the other day that really touched me. It is a message that has been on my heart for a long time. In our world today, the term ‘Christian’ is used almost simultaneously with the term ‘American’. Now, let me preface this message, you surely don’t have to be an American to be a true Christian. And being an American does not automatically make you a ‘Christian.’

Originally, the term Christian meant … someone who follows Christ. But through the years, the definition seems to have changed. As I said before, it’s almost like now if you are an American or not of another religious following, well then you are considered a Christian.

But that is not what God’s Word tells us. This scripture in Matthew is pretty clear, not everyone who says they know God will enter into heaven, but only those who do the will of GOD. It’s not just believing that there is a God out there, the demons believe in God.

A Christian is a person who loves Jesus and believes that He is the son of God and that he came to this earth to save us from our sins. If we accept Him into our lives and ask him to forgive us of our sins, to become Lord over our lives, well, then we are truly followers of Christ.

The message I listened to was about being authentic, being real. It is so easy to pretend through life … pretend we are one thing, but live another. Last night, I was sharing with my ladies group this thought, “Would you do what you are doing, if Jesus was with you? Would you say what you are saying if you were face to face with Jesus?”

I want my life to be honoring to God where ever I am – whatever I am doing.

The Word tells us we are in the World … but we don’t have to be of the world.

Real or Counterfeit … the choice is ours.

Father, help me to walk your walk and to talk your talk. Somedays the world seems to overwhelm me, help me to walk away from it, to find my peace through you.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tonia
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 21:11:12

    Beautifully said Joyce. Thank you for the reminder! God bless you

    Reply

  2. Ranee
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 14:12:22

    I am going to share this with all!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

