Napkin Notes

I just finished packing Carson’s lunch for school. In it, I added a note onto his napkin. It says: Carson, I love you! Have a great day! Love, Mommy.

I have been writing notes, five days a week, to Carson for seven years now. I started with the very first lunch box I packed him, in Kindergarden. I wanted him to know, in the middle of his first day away from home, that I was thinking about him, that I loved him and that I cared about how his day was going. And even though Carson hasn’t called me mommy for years, I still sign the notes that way. I will always be Carson’s mommy.

Carson is a very secure little boy. He doesn’t have to wonder if his mom loves him. He knows he is my child and I want him to enjoy his life.

I was reading a note from God last night, I found it in His Word. He said, But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:5) And then it goes on to say: “Yet to all who recevie him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God. (John 1:12)

And to take it one step farther, just to be sure I got it, I read, For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor power, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38,39)

Okay, I think that covers just about everything. God loves me. He loved me first. If I believe and receive Jesus into my life, I become a child of God and NOTHING after that can ever seperate me from God’s love.

I am secure in his love, knowing I am his child and he wants me to enjoy my life.

Father, thank You for the book of notes you left me, that I can continue to return to time and again to nuture the seed of love that you’ve planted in me. Thank you for giving me words of affirmation to encourage me and to bless me in my day to day walk. And Lord Jesus, thank you for giving me Carson. Please guide me on how to be the best mommy I can be for him.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by: Joyce Schneider

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BecomingMe
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 17:28:15

    I love this Joyce. I really do..it spoke to my heart.

    Reply

  2. Connie Arnold
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 17:32:03

    This is so beautiful, Joyce! Thank you for sharing this blessing in my day.

    Reply

  3. absolutegrace
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 19:54:30

    Thank you for this beautiful website to retreate to!

    I particularly enjoyed this post, because both my husband and I are prolific writers, and transferred much of our energy into notes to our girls! They’re all married now, but they’ve said many times how much those notes meant to them, whether in school or faraway, and even now, when they just ‘happen’ upon one.

    God is always blessing us with notes of His love, and as CJ Mahaney said in a message, even creation serves as a ‘post-it note’ to remind us of God’s glory and wonder, His intimate desire to bless us!

    Thanks again and God Bless!! Linda

    Reply

  4. Elizabeth
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 02:17:30

    Thanks for the reminder. You know what? I think my teenager could use notes like too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

