Our Enemy: Self Defeat

Every year before my birthday I get hopeful as to what will transpire. Will I get a great, unexpected gift? Will there be a huge surprise awaiting me? I have hidden hopes of great anticipation hoping that others will go out of their way to make me feel special and celebrate me. Normally, my hopes are dashed. My birthday is usually just a normal day. Oh, my family gives me gifts and tries to make me feel loved – but my thoughts of big celebrations and grandeur are just that – thoughts.

On my 36th birthday, my day started off a bit rough. Construction next door woke me up early, I had no birthday greetings when I checked email (except from my husband) and I was just feeling “blue.” I started talking to the Lord about it, not wanting my birthday to be destroyed by my attitude as some previous ones had.

God convicted my heart about my need to be noticed, appreciated, and recognized. He showed me that I was relying on others to make me feel good. So I made a decision to get on my knees on the floor, and go face down before the Lord. I shed my brave face and teared up as I told Him my desires and my struggles. God gave me the best gift I could have received. He armed me with the gift of feeling victories over my self defeat.

God showed me that if I wanted to be celebrated so badly, why not celebrate myself? So I made the choice to celebrate me! I realized that this was MY time in life and that Satan was only using issues like this to defeat me.

God helped me see that it was not His will for my life to feel self defeated. Especially on a day like a birthday! And Satan can only make us feel unloveable, uncelebrated, etc if we allow him to. God showed me that I had that power over him.

Self Defeat is one of our biggest enemies. It hinders us from becoming all that we truly can be. It’s a great time-tested tactic that Satan loves to use on us and with us. Don’t let him. Go to the Lord on your face and share all your vulnerabilities with Him. Let Him speak to your heart and see through the lies – seeing how truly celebrated your existence truly is. Then, go out and celebrate your life. Trust me, it will feel really good. And you won’t even be celebrating alone…. Jesus will be there celebrating right beside you.

Dionna Sanchez is the Founder of Emphasis On Moms at http://www.EmphasisOnMoms.com

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ranee Nicholson
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 15:01:40

    Oh my goodness. I feel this article came at the right time. I think you wrote this one for me! LOL! It is my birthday tomorrow, and I have every year, thought the same thing! It just makes my smile and laugh at myself for being so silly to hope that someone makes me feel like a super star! Today, I am going to get on my knees, and pray for the strenght that I need not to depend on others for my true happiness. I have learned that when I pray, it should be for me, not what I think others should do “for me”, or how I feel they “should act”. I have learned so much from you Dionna. Thank you SO MUCH!!
    😉

    Reply

  2. Lynn Mosher
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:04:23

    Beautiful, Dionna! A precious peek into your heart. Whenever your birthday, I pray great surprises of the Lord’s presence…and maybe some presents on the side! Bless you…

    Reply

  3. Dionna
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 18:04:21

    Ranee –
    You are so welcome. I’m just sharing what God is teaching me in the hopes that it can help someone else.

    I truly hope your birthday was full of a different kind of joy this year.

    Reply

  4. Ranee
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 22:13:39

    Thank you Dionna,
    Although I ended up in bed sick on my birthday, it was a really wonderful day! And even though I woke up to not one happy birthday from my husband or boys, I laughed rather then let anything bother me that day. God is truly amazing. And thank you for guiding me with your words… have a beautiful day!!! 🙂

    Reply

  5. confessionsofawayfarer
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:10:21

    Celebrate YOURself? That’s crazy…That’s equating yourself to God! That’s satan’s teachings!
    We celebrate God,understand? Not YOURself. Don’t give your ego a boost. The ego is the friend of the devil which the devil rides on. Self righteousnes…self praising..feeling great about yourself…self..self..self..self..selfishness. Its the root of enimity, superiority..etc..
    All good is a bestowal upon you FROM GOD by His Mercy. And what is bad…is from ourselves. we are nothing. God is God… God is the Great One.
    My sister, enough for you is God! What about sincerity? You are created out of His Love. He nourishes you, teaches you…you should be happy with what God has given you…you didn’t give yourself anything.
    True happiness lies in knowing that you are loved. And the God’s love for His Creation..is true love.

    Reply

  6. confessionsofawayfarer
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:14:48

    And you are right to some extent..when you said ‘self defeat’ is your biggest enemy..
    Actually…your biggest enemy..more aptly put is ‘despair’=’giving up in His Mercy’.

    God said in The Holy Book, “Tell my servants not to despair from My Mercy. For I am the Most Merciful of the Merciful”

    And yes you are right. despair is from Satan.
    But you shouldnt be putting hope in your SELF. You put your hopes in God…coz success is from Him.

    Reply

  7. innerfulfillment
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:21:02

    To clarify – celebrating who God created you to be is not the same as worshiping yourself. Distinctly different things.

    Reply

  8. confessionsofawayfarer
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:47:13

    Not recognizing that goodness comes from God…is forgeting God.
    One can say, “You did a good job son…”but one’s heart must go back to God…and say, “All Praises for God who helped my son do a good job.”

    Reply

  9. confessionsofawayfarer
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:48:32

    So yea…you can celebrate God by thanking God for who you have become…and know that you could never be the one you have become without his support…Never…

    We should always return to God..and always remember Him.

    Reply

  10. Ranee
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 19:13:48

    Oh my goodness. This is the problem with a lot of Christians today. YOU get so defensive! I knew exactly what you meant Dionna! Celebrate YOURSELF in knowing that you are grateful to God for giving you LIFE! There is nothing wrong with waking up in the morning and being thankful that you are alive, and happy, and breathing! Yes we thank God everyday for the LIFE that he granted us! So, you go girl, and celebrate YOU!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  11. confessionsofawayfarer
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 00:21:58

    am not christian…
    for us we are lowly servants of God…and it is our obligation to be humble before our Lord the Supreme..Yet we understand His Love for us through His Mercy and Nourishment.
    The best path to Him is the Path of Love and Adoration of Him.
    We have 3 enemies..the ego, satan and materialism.
    Nuff said.

    Reply

  12. Ranee
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 01:36:58

    I’m so sorry you feel that way. I Love God probably as much as you, I do not have an ego. I believe that is different then waking up in the morning feeling good about yourself. It seems to me that you also judge people. THAT my friend is a sin. It happens to a lot of extremest. I will pray for you……..

    Reply

  13. confessionsofawayfarer
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 08:47:04

    hmm..
    I see sin and the doer as separate entities.
    Thanks for pointing out that I am judgemental. That itself is an evil of my ego. May God help me in purifying my spirit from that.
    If you want to pray for me, pray to God that I will always be on the path of Truth…and return to Him in Truth being blessed with His Pleasure.
    Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

