Caught In The Middle

So, because you are lukewarm – neither hot nor cold – I am about to spit you out of my mouth.
Revelation 3:16

I love the music group, Casting Crowns! Their music is right where we live. They have a song out called, Somewhere In The Middle. One of the verses says this:

Fearless warriors in a picket fence, reckless abandon wrapped in common sense
Deep water faith in the shallow end and we are caught in the middle.
With eyes wide open to the differences, the God we want and the God who is.
But will we trade our dreams for His or are we caught in the middle?
Are we caught in the middle?

So many times I find myself caught in the middle. I want to be a warrior for God, but here I sit in my safe little house doing what? I want to abandon my fears and go for it, but what about my family? What about my job? What about _______? I want to dive head first into the pool … but I can’t swim … I have to stay in the shallow end. (literally) Okay, I can swim. I don’t like to swim. I choose not to swim. But you get the idea.

One of the lines says:

Just how close can I get, Lord, to my surrender without losing all control.

That’s the real problem with me. I want all of God, but am I really willing to lose all of me to achieve all of HIM? I want to surrender my life to him, but I keep holding onto the parts of me that I don’t want exposed or revealed or I just plain don’t want to let go of.

I was talking to my friend the other day and we came to the conclusion that wanting our control was the issue that stops us from attaining true peace. That when we truly release whatever issue we are holding onto to God, we can have peace through the situation, whatever the outcome is. But … releasing our control is hard. As Cindy said, “Our strong stubborn self-will messes us up, everytime.”

I don’t want to keep messing up. I don’t want to be somewhere in the middle … I want to be right in the middle of God’s Will!

Father, help me to release control … total control … of my life, to you. Lord, you have a plan for me, and it is a good one and I want to follow you. I have good intentions, I mean well, but then something happens and boom, I’m right back in the middle of the junk. I don’t want the junk Father, I want your peace in my life. Help me Lord Jesus to stay in the middle of Your will … not mine.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by: Joyce Schneider

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Here is the link to the song on UTube, if you’d like to hear it for yourself:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DveYBno-pmQ

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 23:19:47

    Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

