My Scout Master

The quiet words of the wise are more to be heeded than the shouts of a ruler of fools.
Ecclesiastes 9:17

Last night was the annual Blue and Gold Banquet for the Cub Scouts. It’s a great time of food and fellowship and watching the boys receive their achievments. Cub Scouts have been a major part of our lives for the past six years.

Last night was a little different time for our family … Bobby stepped down from his role as Cub Master. He has lead this pack for the past five years and they’ve grown from 30-35 boys to 75 -80! I really don’t know the exact number, but I know there were close to 200 people at this dinner last night … it was hard to find a place big enough to hold everyone!

I was so touched by what the other leaders said to Bobby, as they recognized him and released him from his role as their leader. The tears were rolling down my face as I listened to what they said about my husband. The respect and love was so evident in their words. Two hundred people stood and gave Bobby their respect and applause at the end and it was a very touching moment.

Bobby isn’t quitting scouts, he’s just moving on to the next level. He will be the Scout Master of Troop 25, starting March 1st. Many of the people who worked with him in his Cub Scout Pack are moving on to Boy Scouts with him and they are excited to see what the future holds for the boys of this troop.

The past five years have not always been easy ones. Bobby has put a lot of time, energy and devotion into the boys and their parents. But he stood up on that stage last night and the words he said touched my heart, ” I love my boys, I love camping, I love being able to help your boys.”

Yesterday, I was listening to the song, Lifesong, by Casting Crowns. How our life is a song for Jesus … how do we live it out?

Bobby is a man of few words, but last night his life song ran out clear and true …

Father, thank you for giving me Bobby to share my life with, to love, to raise together the family we have started. He is such a rock and I am so very thankful that he is my husband.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by: Joyce Schneider

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

