How Do Other People See You?

posin-in-the-cornSometimes I wonder how other people view me. Do you ever wonder that? People don’t always see us the way we see ourselves or even the way we think they see us! Our impressions of ourselves are not always the impressions that others have of us.

We may think we are really fun to be around – others may see us as attention-getters, or immature. We may think we are stable and reliable when others view us as strict. We may think we are passionate about our beliefs – when others see it as being opinionated. Do other people think we are sweet and cute – or merely childlike? Do people see our genuine hearts or can they only see the way we act and speak?

I think often of this. I can get insecure when I start thinking too deeply about how I come across to others or how they view me. Ultimately, I know that I need to be happy and content with myself and striving to please the Lord….but I also understand that you can’t discount your words or actions and how they might affect others in a positive or negative way – which not only reflects upon yourself, but on your reputation for the Lord.

I don’t want to work so hard to please other people that I lose the joy in being who I am. I don’t want to lose the core of my individuality and uniqueness in the desire to be liked and accepted. But I also don’t want to be ignorant of how I come across. I want to aspire to have the right balance of character and qualities so that people will feel close to me and see my genuine heart of love for them that comes from a heart that loves Jesus.

I hate that some people might think I’m full of myself or “cocky” simply because I’m laughing or having a good time when they are not. I dread someone thinking that I’m rude because I fail to smile or acknowledge them. But I can’t live my life letting someone else “own” my actions and attitudes. I know this – and I’m striving to free myself from those standards.

Despite it all – despite my new healthy self-standards —- I still wonder at times how other people see me. I can only hope that they see the good things in me and how hard I’m working to weed out the bad.

I can only hope that my heart, my motives, my soul being — shine through to overshadow any faults that might be apparent in me. And that I can get the “real me” across. If I’m successful in doing that ~ maybe they will like what they see and simply love me for who I am.


Dionna Sanchez
Join my prayer team –
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/EmphasisOnPrayer/join

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ranee Nicholson
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 15:54:01

    Dionna,
    Thank you so much for this! I am always looking at myself and wondering the same things about me! Did I not wave at her when I saw her on the road, or did I not see her at church and say hi? Its always something! I am looking at me wondering if I have upset someone because I can be blunt in a nice way. I love the fact that you make me feel that I am normal, and its ok to work hard to be a good mother, wife, daughter and friend. Im alway working hard to please the most important of them all. My God.

    Reply

  2. innerfulfillment
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 16:06:40

    Ranee – You are very welcome. I’m glad this article could help encourage you in some way.🙂

    Dionna

    Reply

  3. Lynn Mosher
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 16:32:01

    It is an age-old question, isn’t it? How do others see me? We all desire to have others think well of us. This was a great post, Dionna, and I can tell you this: what little I know of you, your hopes are solidified…

    “I can only hope that my heart, my motives, my soul being — shine through to overshadow any faults that might be apparent in me. And that I can get the “real me” across. If I’m successful in doing that ~ maybe they will like what they see and simply love me for who I am.”

    Your heart shines forth as a beacon of the Lord. So, not to be concerned. You have been successful. You are loved for who you are…the real you!

    Reply

  4. Connie Arnold
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 16:38:48

    Thanks for sharing this post, Dionna! We all want others to like us and often worry about approval. What you say about your heart, motive and soul shining through is important, and I would add to that to let the light of God’s love shine through you to others, which I see in your writing!

    Reply

  5. Tonia
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 21:14:14

    My sister Ranee said everything I feel as well. I feel I work way to hard to make sure people like me and change to what I think they would like. I am who God has made me to be and just need continue to work to please Him. I truly feel exactly how your article states and I just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. God bless you.

    Reply

  6. innerfulfillment
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 22:09:21

    Thank you so much for all of your comments and encouraging words. I needed them especially today. Keep on keeping on and keep that focus on the Lord instead of the world.🙂

    Dionna

    Reply

    • x
      Aug 08, 2009 @ 08:15:59

      Yup! Ignore all the people in need and keep the focus on”the lord”, like “the lord” needs attention like primitive minded selfish humans.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

