Open Up The Floodgates

I’ve decided that in order to be the kind of person I truly want to be, I need to basically just inundate myself with Christian music, teaching, devotions, scriptures, and people. I’ve been trying it lately and it is really helping me with my attitude, actions, and thoughts. One Sunday a week, a midweek Bible Study and some Christian music in between doesn’t cut it for me anymore. It’s not enough. There are too many hours in between those times, where I am vulnerable and can fall prey to my own emotions and weaknesses.

You see, in our culture, we are inundated with messages of materialism, beauty, pride, and selfishness. So it just makes sense that in order to counterract all of that, that I need to inundate myself with Biblical values and truths! I’ve found that as soon as I get too busy to listen to a Christian speaker, or do a devotion or take time for prayer… then Wham! I’m easily agitated again, or I lose my temper with my children, or I say something I regret. Because I’ve taken my focus off of the Lord and put it on myself and the world! And that’s just not how I want to live.

I want to live in this world but not be “of” this world. I want to enjoy what it can offer me, but not let it affect me so much that I give priority to things that shouldn’t have a priority. I don’t want to let the world tip me out of balance.

I feel much more refreshed, at peace, calm, and focused as I draw in the support, love, and truths that God can offer me. I am able to handle what is thrown my way better rather than so easily getting thrown for a loop by it, instead!

I’m still gonna screw up. I’m not perfect. I know that I will at times, let the dailyness of life pull me away from getting much-needed Christian growth in my life. But I hope that those times will become a rare occurence, and that for the most-part, I will open up the floodgates of my heart to soaking in all the Christian influence I can- to arm me and prepare me to stand steadily on my two feet as I face the world each day.

— Dionna Sanchez – http://alastingfoundation.blogspot.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 20:08:29

    Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is. Romans 12:2 NLT

    Amen, sister!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

