Love ‘Em Where They’re At

There are so many different people in this world. I have always loved to “people-watch” because I am fascinated by people. God has a great imagination doesn’t He? We are all so diverse. Yet, as diverse as we are it is amazing how we tend to ostracize those who we consider “different.” I’ve seen it, I’ve felt it, and I’ve done it. If we’re honest with ourselves, we’ve all done it. We like to rub shoulders with those who have a lot in common with us don’t we? There’s nothing wrong with that – except when it interferes with us reaching out to others.

Have you seen that mom at your child’s school? She may look a little differently than you and have ideals that don’t measure up to yours, but that doesn’t give anyone the right to deem her “unworthy.” And really, that is what we do when we close our hearts from someone else.

I am learning a great lesson that I think God wants all of us to learn. We hold people to unreasonable standards that He never set. We set them. We have standards that we feel others don’t measure up to – not standards set by God. He loves us all where we are at. I don’t know what I would do if God decided that because my nail polish is chipped that I am unworthy to be called “acceptable” in His book! Maybe it’s someone who smokes and can’t kick the habit, or someone who loves the Lord but lets a bad word slip in every now and again. Are they unworthy? And if so, says who? You?

People need love. ALL people. Not just the ones that you decide need love. We need to learn how to accept and love people where they are at. That includes people who have bad habits. It includes people who aren’t pretty or who don’t wear the kind of clothes you like. It includes those who are grumpy and those who can’t seem to learn that they are meant to be single – but instead bounce from man to man to man.

Maybe if we can learn to love others where they are at, they will be motivated to change. Maybe they will truly see what it means to have the love of God in your heart and life.

I think if we can unselfishly love others despite where they are at in their lives, we can truly impact lives. I want to do that. I want to live that. Don’t you?

 

~ Dionna Sanchez blogs for women at http://emphasisonmoms.blogspot.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Ann Moll
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 18:18:32

    Good point! Great reminder! Thanks, Dionna, for poointing out that we need to love as Jesus loved. Didn’t he eat in the home of sinners? Rub shoulders with the unclean?

    Today the unclean might not be lepers, but what about the woman with the tatoo? Or the pierced lip? Or the lady with the perfectly manicured nails who lives in a great, big house with the perfectly manicured lawn? Should I avoid people who are not like me?

    Jesus reached out the everyone. I wanna be like him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

