Let Me Be The Parent

Let Me Be The Parent
 
Do not judge, and you will not be judged.  Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned.  Forgive, and you will be forgiven.  Give, and it will be given to you.  A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap.  For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.
Luke 6:37-38
 
As I walked into the house tonight, I heard Bobby saying to Carson, “Let me be the parent.”   From day one of Chase’s life, he has been Carson’s baby. Carson loved his baby brother and it was always his ‘job’ to take care of him.  Through the years, nothing has changed.  But nowadays, Carson isn’t as gentle with Chase as he used to be.  He has a tendency to forget that his brother is a little younger, hasn’t quite experienced all that he has and he is a little more critical of him.  Bobby is constantly reminding Carson that he is the brother, he needs to worry about himself, he doesn’t need to reprimand Chase. 
 
Sometimes I get frustrated by the actions of others.  In my mind, they should act a certain way or do things the way I want them to.  One day I was fussing to myself about someone and I felt God saying to me, “Joyce, you take care of yourself.  I’ll take care of them.”
 
Ummm … I’d heard that before. 
 
Ouch … but it was true.  I can only be responsible for myself.  I cannot change another person.  I can’t make them do things the way I want. 
 
It’s a hard lesson for Carson to learn … it’s a hard lesson for me. 
 
But the peace that is in our house when Carson isn’t fussing at his brother is wonderful.  And the peace that flows through me when I am simply putting my focus on God, and my relationship with Him and not worrying about another,  is truly incomparable.
 
Father, please forgive me when I fuss about others.  I know I have enough on my plate, just keeping myself focused on you.  Help me to simply love and let you be the parent. 
 
I Love You Jesus.
       In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen
God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:

Joyce Schneider

http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

