Are You a Grump?

Hey moms – are you a grump?  Are you so busy, overwhelmed, and stressed that you don’t smile, relax, or laugh much anymore?
I went through a phase where I was a grump. I’m not proud of it. In fact, my heart is saddened by the fact that I allowed myself to become that way. But, it happened. My husband would start to say things like, “Leave mom alone,” Or “Don’t bother your mom,” Because he knew that I was on overload!  But it was mostly my own fault.  I had too much on my plate.
 
You know what? I WANT my kids to come to me. I don’t want them to feel like they are a bother or a hassle to me. I don’t want them to remember me getting irritated with their presence! I want them to remember a mom with arms open wide – with a smile upon her lips, and the ability to laugh and enjoy life. 
 
I realize that life is not all about having fun.  Not all moments in life ARE fun!  But I want my daily attitude to be that of a warm, enjoyable, feminine, and loving woman. I want those feelings to be conveyed from my heart. I don’t want to be viewed as someone who yells at her children in the grocery store, or yanks on their arms to hurry up and follow her. I certainly don’t want to be the grump responsible for the tears stinging their eyes!
 
It’s never too late to change your attitude, to ask for forgiveness (from both God AND your family) – and change your course. 
 
Just think about what your life has been like lately – and give some thought to how your children and husband view you. If you don’t like what you discover, then make the choice today to change your heart and focus.
 
 
 
~ Dionna Sanchez is constantly learning how to be the woman God created her to be.
http://emphasisonmoms.blogspot.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marlo
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 17:32:18

    Ahh yes…I, too, can be a grump when I get overwhelmed. I think it is an indicator that we are doing more than God called us to do in a 24 hour period. There are many good activities but how many are also GOD activities?

    Reply

  2. katie
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 03:53:06

    wow- thanks so much- this was just what I needed to read. While I don’t consider myself to be a “grump” I’ve definately had my moments…but I remind myself that my girls aren’t going to be this age forever and I need to slow down and cherish them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

