Less Is More

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.
Galatians 5:22,23
 
The other night I was asking to give God me more of His Spirit.  That has always been a prayer of my heart … to be more like Him.  It sounds simple enough, Lord, give me more of You.  But the next day I started thinking about that request.  If I wanted more of God, there would have to be less of me.
 
ummm ….
 
If my mind and my heart is filled with my stuff, there is no room for God. 
 
If I want to be filled with love,  I can’t have dislike or scorn for others in my heart.
If I want to be filled with joy, I can’t let sadness and sorrow overwhelm my mind.
If I want to be filled with peace, I need to remove worry and fear from my emotions.
If I want to be filled with patience, I have to stop being frustrated and agitated with others.
If I want to be filled with kindness, I cannot be harsh or mean to another.
If I want to be filled with goodness, I cannot harbor evil or wicked thoughts.
If I want to be filled with faithfulness, I cannot be dishonest or disloyal.
If I want to be filled with gentleness, I must remove the roughness in my actions and the hardness in my heart.
If I want to be filled with self-control, I cannot be easily agitated or rash in my actions.
 
ummm …
 
In God’s economy, to have more of Him, I have to have less of me. 
 
Father, thank you for showing me this truth.  Please help me to remove the things inside of me that are not of you.  Help me to clean house Lord, so that your spirit fills me to the overflow.
 
I Love You Jesus.
       In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce



 
Grass Stains and Giggles
Experiencing God in the Midst of Motherhood
by Joyce Schneider

“Grass Stains and Giggles by Joyce Schneider invites you to look again in the daily grind of life. Through heartwarming and colloquial tales about her life adventures of parenting, Joyce offers a glimpse of how to live out your faith in real time, every single day. Allow God to nourish your spirit and bring hope through the journey not in spite of, but in the midst of the frenzy of day-to-day affairs. Grass Stains and Giggles reminds us that God is ever present in caring for His children if we are willing to listen, even when we don’t expect Him to speak. “  

  

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 19:34:45

    Excellent reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

