Driving To Immokalee

Remember this:  Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.  Each man should give what he has decided in his hart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.
2 Corinthians 9:6,7
 
As part of my daily work life, I drive lab specimens from doctor’s offices to the local pathology lab.  I’ve been doing my route for about a year and a half and I have become friends with a lot of the girls in the offices. It made my job fun, having friends along the way.  A few weeks ago, my boss changed my route, he asked me if I would drive to Immokalee each morning and do the lab pick ups out there.  Because I live halfway to Immokalee , it just made sense.
 
Immokalee isn’t quite like Naples.  It is an immigrant, migrant worker town, many of the people who live there don’t even speak English. 
 
I was a little bummed about my re-assignment.  I missed my friends on my old route, it wasn’t so fun to drive to Immokalee each morning.   But I started looking at the people as I picked up my specimens and I asked God to show me them through His eyes.  There were tons of kids everywhere I looked.  It was right around Halloween time, and the boys had a huge bowl of candy, so I went through it and picked out all the little suckers.  I figured all kids love suckers.  I filled my pockets with them and took off.
 
I had so much fun that morning giving suckers to all the little kids.  Their little faces just lit up and although most of the parents didn’t speak English, they smiled and said, “Gracias” to me.
 
I know enough Spanish to know they are thanking me.
 
I soon ran out of suckers, but I found a great deal on miniature candy canes and so I loaded up on them.  And the kids love them as much as the suckers.  I even give them to the adults sometimes, when they look like they need a smile.
 
Then it got cold here, and I saw some little kids without jackets.  So I went through the boys’ drawers and pulled out some outgrown sweatpants and jackets and wouldn’t you know it, God showed me the perfect little boys to give them to.
 
Then I found some beautiful Teddy bears at the dollar store and I loaded up on them.  Back to the boys’ drawers and to make a long story short, I can’t wait to drive to Immokalee each morning, to see who I can bless.
 
That old saying, “It is better to give then to receive” is so very true.
 
There is a really cool revolution going on right now … all over the world.   Take a few minutes and check it out:
 
http://www.thegiftrevolution.com
 
Who can you bless today?
 
 
Father, thank you for showing me your heart, for allowing me to see other’s in their circumstances and for finding ways to bless them. 
 
I Love You Jesus.
       In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Leave a Reply

