Thanks

Her children rise up and call her blessed; Proverbs 31:28 NKJV

This verse reminds me of a certain commercial for some kind of food. When the mother serves it, her child stands up on his chair and praises her for making it for them. It’s so unrealistic it is funny!

I never would have believed one day my kids would be thankful for all I have done for them…until I became thankful for my own mother. I was in my mid-thirties. One morning I was making a hot breakfast for my son and struggling with so many things to get ready before we had to leave. Then it hit me. Wow! My mother had made me a hot breakfast every day I lived with her. Not only that, but she never fussed over how much work it was! Now I understood what it meant to work so hard with little or no thanks. So realizing how long it took me, I now know one day my kids will understand just like I finally did. How wonderful the thought.

Don’t be discouraged when your children are not always thankful. A great verse to remember in that situation is Habakkuk 2:3 NKJV: “For the vision is yet for an appointed time; but at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry.”

Lord Jesus, we are thankful you never give up on us. Help us never give up on our kids. Equip us to continue doing what is right without growing weary. In the end we will reap a harvest of right living. In your name we pray. Amen.

© Elizabeth Marks, author of ThinkOnIt Devotions and has a heart for encouraging others with God’s Word. For more devotions, bible studies and a recommended book store, visit http://www.ThinkOnItDevotions.com today.

Leave a Reply

