What Do You Have to Offer?

“A woman of true beauty offers others the grace to be and the room to become.” ~ Captivating, by John and Stasi Eldredge
What kind of a woman are you? I was thinking about the kind of women that I am drawn to. As I think about it, I realize that it’s usually not how they keep their homes, how many children they have, or how busy and involved they are in work, church, or their kids’ schooling. No – I am drawn to women because of a warmth, humility, and graciousness that seem to radiate from them. I can tell you that sometimes all it takes is for a woman to say a sentence or two to me, before I can tell that I will adore her. There is just something about her that is genuine.

I want to be that kind of a woman. I want to have true beauty. Not the kind of beauty that is flawless because she has no facial or bodily imperfection (although that would be nice too!) but the kind of beauty that draws others to me. I want to have the kind of beauty that makes others feel like they can be totally themselves with me – flaws and all. I want to allow others the room to grow and become more of who God sees them as. I want to feel good in my own skin, thus allowing others to feel good in their own.

I think a woman is at her best when she is being a woman. When we fight against that, we are fighting against ourselves. And we’ll never win.

If I can learn to embrace who God created me to be, then I think other women can learn to do the same when they are in my company. I want to be able to offer them something, and at the same time, offer it to myself – the freedom to simply be “me.” Then maybe more of us will feel and see the beauty in us that God knows is already there.

 

~ Dionna Sanchez – http://www.EmphasisOnMoms.com

Leave a Reply

