Intentional People

Webster’s definition of intentional is: characterized by conscious design or purpose. I was talking to a group of women the other night and this concept came up – being intentional. It is so easy to float through life. We don’t mean to, but procrastination can get a hold of us or depression or even busyness and we get way off focus of what our intention or our purpose really is.

I have been struggling with discouragement lately. I chalked it up to the fact that I haven’t been sleeping well, giving that up to the generic complaint of hormones askew. And it’s true, I have been askew. But during the process of getting back to me, I discovered that I had gotten a bit off kelter in my purpose, as well.

As Joyce Meyer would say, “I was getting my who mixed up with my do.” And because my do wasn’t going the way I wanted it to go, I was feeling like my who was messed up. Rick Warren says in The Purpose Driven Life, “It’s not about you. The purpose of your life is far greater than your own personal fulfillment, your peace of mind, or even your happiness. It’s far greater than your family, your career, or even your wildest dreams. If you want to know why you were placed on this planet, you must begin with God. You were born by his purpose and for his purpose.”

When I intentionally stopped and searched who I was in Christ, all sorts of wonderful promises from God came to me.

God’s Word tells me that:

1. I Am Secure
Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. (Romans 8:1, 2)

2. I Am Accepted
Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God. (John 1:12)

3. I Am Significant
You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men. You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. (Matthew 5:13:14)

My intention is to focus on this truth, I am a child of God. I am secure, accepted and significant, not because of anything I can or don’t do, but simply because He loves me.

Father, thank you for loving me, first. Thank you for the promises that I can wrap around my heart and move forward on. And Jesus, thank you for showing me once more, it’s not about me, it’s all about you!

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
http://www.alifedecision.org

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 23:26:00

    I am secure. I am accepted. I am significant. I am loved. I am forgiven. Amen to that, girlfriend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

