God’s Acceptance

Jesus accepts us just as we are. He never asked us to be more than we are. In fact, He did quite the opposite. He said, “”This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word.” He told us to put the first last, and the last first. He told us to become less so that He could become greater in us, and He talked often about getting rest.

We would not need to rely on God if we met our own expectations of perfection. Our children would not need to rely on God if we were perfect parents. We wouldn’t be able to show them how to apologize, how to learn, or how to ask God for help when we can’t rely on our own strength.
 

I want to be the best mom I can be – within reason. I also want to be moldeable, teacheable, and learneable (if that’s a word). I expect a lot out of myself and need to continue to tell myself that it is not God that expects perfection out of me – but myself and the world.

I’ll just keep rehearsing that message until my brain and my heart – get it.

 

Dionna Sanchez – http://emphasisonmoms.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

