Comfort Clothes

Some people eat food for comfort. Mashed potatoes, meatloaf and gravy do nothing for me, but give me a thread bare pair of jeans and a fleece sweatshirt and life is easier for me to face …

Yesterday was a sad day. An old friend passed away on Wednesday, and my heart was hurting. I got up to go to work and the sky was as overcast as my mind. And although it wasn’t really cold enough to warrant the sweatshirt, it also wasn’t hot enough to discard it, so on it went. I needed it’s comfort.

I walked into one of my regular stops and the girl behind the desk asked me if it was cold outside. I told her no … and she looked at me funny and asked why I had on a sweatshirt.

I told her I was wearing my comfort clothes … and she smiled and said she hoped they helped.

They did …

There are many things we can find comfort in … good and bad. I used to find comfort in alcohol. Although it wasn’t really comfort, it was numbing. If I drank enough, I didn’t have to face what was going on in my life.

Some people find comfort in work … some in sleeping … some in drugs … the list is endless.

My jeans and sweatshirt are harmless … but honestly, the only true comfort in life comes from a relationship with Jesus Christ.

I was talking to my friend’s dad last night, telling him how sorry I was that his son was gone. And he shared with me his faith in God and how that was sustaining him through this horrible trial.

We talked for a bit about how God was the only answer. That without a relationship with him, well, there just wasn’t much to look forward to. We live and we die … but when we know Jesus, we have the promise of eternal life with Him.

I hung up the phone from talking with this very wise man and God’s peace permeated my soul.

My prayer for you today is that God’s peace is your comfort, no matter what trial you are walking through and that these words are the cry of your heart:

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.
Psalm 23

Father, I thank you for the promise of eternal life, with you. Lord I pray your comfort upon all those who are grieving today and I ask you to wrap them up in your arms and bring them the peace that can only come from you.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

