People Never Crumble In A Day

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Palm 51:10
 
Casting Crowns has a song out on their album, The Alter and the Door, called Slow Fade.  I’ve been listening to the words of the song, as opposed to just listening to the song.  There is a difference.
 
And when I started hearing the words, they really struck me.  One part of the song says:
 
It’s a slow fade when you give yourself away
It’s a slow fade when black and white have turned to gray
Thoughts invade, choices are made, a price will be paid
When you give yourself away
People never crumble in a day
It’s a slow fade, it’s a slow fade
 
The video that accompanies this song illustrates the story of an unfaithful husband, and the damage it is doing to his family.  The concept of allowing ourselves to go from black and white to gray. 
 

It’s just an innocent flirtation … we don’t really mean anything by it.  But then we are angry with our spouse for some preconceived wrong they have done and so we accept that invitation for a drink after work and one thing leads to another and our life, as we know it has changed.
 
But this doesn’t relate to just marital problems, it relates to life in general stuff.  It’s just a little sin, we think.  It won’t hurt if we do it just this once.  And because God didn’t strike us down dead the first time, well, we usually tend to do it again.  And maybe we add something else to the offense.  And slowly but surely, there are so many gray areas in our lives and we end up in a crumbled heap.
 
I remember when I lost Chance, the doctor gave me a prescription for sleeping pills and Valium.  At the time, I felt like I needed something to numb my pain, and I took them.  Constantly …
 
And then one day, Jesus said to me, “Joyce, throw away those pills.”  And honestly, I didn’t want to.  I wanted to continue to take them.  I liked being numb from the hurt in my heart.  But I knew if I continued to take them, I would be hooked.  And one day, I’d wake up and I’d still have the hurt and I’d have a bad habit on top of the pain.
 
So I made a choice that day, I threw away the pills.
 
Proverbs 4:23 says:  Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
 
In our Ladies Group, we have a little saying, ‘Time for a Heart Check’.  We encourage each other to check what’s going on inside of ourselves on a daily basis, so we don’t get into that slow fade … so we don’t crumble and fall.
 
I’d like to give you the same encouragement today … 
 
People never crumble in a day … It’s a slow fade, it’s a slow fade

 
 
Father, help us to renew our minds, our spirits on a daily basis.  Lord, help us to cleanse ourselves of the gray areas of our lives, the things that we’ve let go, just because.  Help us to not go with the flow … to not do things just because others do.  Help us to not fade away Lord, to not crumble, but  to stand strong in our faith and to live our lives as a constant witness to your love, mercy and grace.

 
I Love You Jesus.
      In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce


Leave a Reply

