Favor with God and Man

Her husband also, and he praises her: “Many daughters have done well, but you excel them all.” Proverbs 31:28-29 NKJV

Following the Lord’s leading will have its consequences. Here we see Proverbs 31 Woman receiving praise from her husband. Proverbs 3:3-4 NKJV says “Let not mercy and truth forsake you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart, and so find favor and high esteem in the sight of God and man.” This woman knew how to do just that.

If our aim is to please God, we find favor with God and as an added bonus we also receive favor from man. The priority must be God and His Kingdom first (Matthew 6:33), and then all these other things will be added. Confusing these by aiming to please man first will result in much disappointment, bitterness, resentment, anger and discouragement. Therefore, if you are experiencing these side affects you may want to revisit your priorities through prayer.

Father God above, forgive me for loosing my focus on You. Help me regain the balance of being rightly related to You and man. Enable me to seek Your will first. Break the people-pleasing tendency by helping me focus on pleasing You alone. Jesus said in Matthew 11-28:30 NKJV: “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Help me bring my burdens to You. In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

© Elizabeth Marks, author of ThinkOnIt Devotions and has a heart for encouraging others with God’s Word. For more devotions, bible studies and a recommended book store, visit http://www.ThinkOnItDevotions.com today.

Leave a Reply

