Never Leave Your Partner Behind

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.
I Corinthians 13:4-8
 
Bobby and I went to see a movie the other day, Fireproof.  It is about a firefighter who saves the world, but doesn’t have the desire to save his marriage.  Then God touches his heart, and his focus changes off himself and onto his wife.  It is a great movie, I would highly recommend it. 
 
Today is Bobby and I’s anniversary.  Thirteen years ago today I promised to love my husband, through good times and bad.  I wrote this poem to Bobby and gave it to him on our wedding day:
 
Our love knows no beginning, it will see no end – it is infinite.
The path we have traveled has been rough, but never rocky – allowing us to strengthen and grow.
Now as we bond together – the future hold nothing but promise, because we are as one!
 
I am so very thankful that is still the desire of my heart … to love Bobby, forever!
 
It’s hasn’t been an easy thirteen years … I must confess.  Not because of anything Bobby did or didn’t do, but life messed with my head.  Bobby and I lost three babies and my heart was hurt.  And I pulled away from Bobby.  But God healed my heart and he healed my hurts and my relationship with Bobby became even stronger, we hung on, through the trials and through the pain.
 
God also blessed Bobby and I with two very special babies, and they have turned into two very special little boys.
 
I am so very thankful for the family God has given me.  Thirteen years ago, it was a dream, in my heart … today it is reality. 
 
Thank you Bobby, for not leaving me behind in the fire.
 
Father, thank you for giving me a husband as special as Bobby.  Thank you for the love you have given him for me, in spite of myself, he has always loved me.  Thank you Lord Jesus for blessing my family with a unique love for each other … one that will surpass all the fires that life brings our way.
 
I Love You Jesus.
      In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce


Submitted by:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HEvencense
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 15:37:19

    How ’bout “Never leave your SPOUSE behind?”
    In this day and age, a “partner” isn’t the same as as a “spouse.”

    Reply

  2. Joyce Schneider
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 18:02:18

    I don’t think we should ever leave anyone behind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

