The Lord is my boss

I have a perpetual calendar on my desk that has daily bible readings. March 21 had that well known verse from Psalm 23:1 ‘The Lord is my shepherd’ and prompted the reader to think about how David likened God to a loving, caring Shepherd and that this was because of what David knew firsthand in his life.

The reader was prompted to think about replacing the word ’shepherd’ with something else that would have meaning in our lives, something that would be known to us first-hand. What about if you replaced that word with something like ‘boss’?

The Lord is my boss, I lack for nothing.
He makes me lie down in green pastures (He makes me work in plentiful areas)
He leads me beside quiet waters (He leads me into quiet places)
He refreshes my soul
He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake (He guides me in my work and shows me the right ways)

and so on. Imagine the Lord as your boss beside you in the workplace, helping you to achieve your goals, granting you inner peace on really busy days, protecting you and making you aware of His presence. God is there with you always, you just need to acknowledge and remember that – it will make those difficult days so much easier to bear and the good days even more joyful.

Kathie M. Thomas is an Author, Blogger, Speaker and Virtual Assistant Coach & Trainer. Her passion is about helping women return home to work, using skills they developed in the workforce, so they can be home fulltime for their families.

Leave a Reply

