God’s Calling

Have you ever felt God called you to do something – yet no one else supported or understood that calling? Have you ever been told by someone close to you that they felt God was calling them to do something… and you had a hard time with the direction they were being led in?

God doesn’t always work in neatly tied-up packages. Other people are often affected by the choices and decisions that His people feel He is telling them to take and make on His behalf. It can be stretching and it can emotionally be frustrating and painful at times.
— I know that when God is calling someone to be used by Him in ministry – that there will always be growth involved. It’s not always by the person being used, but sometimes by the people around that person. The people who love and care for them and who are being pulled outside of their comfort zones whether they asked for it or not… simply because of their close relationship with God’s chosen person at that point in time.

If we are put in that situation, we need to ask Him for the strength and the insight to be able to learn and grow. We need to be open to what it is that God intends on teaching us. We need to be steadfast in our love for the person He is using – and we need to be moldeable. We need to be ready to sacrifice our desires and our plans if God asks us to. Yes, it may hurt. Yes, it may be uncomfortable. It may REALLY be hard for us.
But it will be worth it.

 

~ Dionna Sanchez (Editor – EmphasisOnMoms.com)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. makarios
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 01:34:05

    What an awesome privelege to be used by God. Always worth it to follow willingly.

    Reply

  2. Kathie Thomas
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 02:33:54

    I find from my own experience that when God is calling me to do something it nags and nags at me and consumes me to the point that I have to sit down and pray to Him and ask Him to either take it away or let me know that it is from Him. He invariably sends a message or someone not long after for confirmation.

    Reply

  3. Lynn Mosher
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 15:05:19

    Dionna, Your words are so true. Six months after I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in 2000, the Lord whispered to my heart that He wanted me to start writing for Him. I didn’t understand but obeyed. I think those around me were a little skeptical at the time. But now, praise the Lord, many around me have been positively affected from my writings. Oh, I am s-o-o-o glad I obeyed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

