Would You Give Away Your Last $25?

If God told you to give your last $25, would you give it? I tell you, GIVE IT! Trust me, I know! Years ago, during a very financially challenging time, I was at our bank, taking out about the last $25 we had to buy food. As I walked to my car, I overheard a man talking to another man, “Now what am I going to do? The bank will be closed until Monday. I won’t have any money.” For some reason, he could not get any money from his paycheck.

 

Wouldn’t that make you just rush right over and give him some? God prompted me to do so, but I never found out what the problem was, because I got in my car and drove away – to my shame and embarrassment. I thought if I gave him the last of my money, how would I feed my family?

 

That was before I knew better how to obey the Lord, and to this day, I deeply regret it. I didn’t trust God and I never experienced His hand at work in that situation. God was trying to bless someone through me and teach me something, but I didn’t listen. Blessings were lost for both of us. Don’t let that happen to you.

 

“If you give to others, you will be given a full amount in return. It will be packed down, shaken together, and spilling over into your lap. The way you treat others is the way you will be treated.” (Luke 6:38 Contemporary English Version)

 

~ Lynn Mosher ~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 10:55:02

    Aunt Lynn, God still works wonders through you to this day! Keep up the good “works”!

    Reply

  2. Marielle Seastrom
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:43:18

    I absolutely would; again and again. If we cling to money, we are weakening ourselves psychologically and giving “money” our power.

    The giving of your time or money to help others is more than the golden rule; it is plausibly the golden ring waiting to crown your heart and soul.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

