Finish With A Bang

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
Philippians 1:6

Yesterday was the boys’ last soccer game. Truthfully, they’ve not had such a great season. I think they only won a couple of games during the regular season and then in last week’s tournament, they only won one of their three games. And then yesterday, things seemed to change. They had two games to play to finish out the year, and they seemed like a whole different team. They played great and won both of their games. I was so proud of them.

I was especially proud of Chase. He scored his first goal yesterday. This was his first season of playing soccer. He’d had his try at flag football, baseball and karate, and finally decided to give soccer a whirl. And although he enjoyed the game, truthfully, he was having a bit of a struggle getting into his position and understanding how to work in that spot as a team player.

He was all over the field, all the time. I was always hearing his coaches telling him, “In your postion Chase, in your position.” But the poor kid just wasn’t getting it. He had a pretty shaky start with the game and I wondered if he’d play again next season. We have a rule at our home, when you start something, you finish it. You can not start next time, if you wish, but you always have to play out a season. No quitting.

But yesterday, Chase was actually in control of himself; where he was to be and he stayed in his spot and made several key plays and at one point, right into the goal went the ball after he kicked it.

I was so excited for him. I think I was the loudest one cheering for him. And he had such a grin on his little face when he ran back out to his spot.

They won the game, 3-1. They won their second game, 2-1. Carson scored a goal in that game. I was very proud of him as well, but Carson had been displaying a little more control over his game all season, this was his second time playing the game and he had it down a little more this second season.

The boys as a whole and Chase in particular had a very shaky start to their season but really finished it off with a big bang! We won’t remember those first games when we think of this season, but rather the way they played that last day!

I can relate to my little Chase man. I had a very shaky start in my journey with Jesus. And a slow start. I didn’t start my walk with him till I was 40 years old. And then as hard as I’d try, it seemed like I was always messing up. Falling down. Missing his directions. Not hitting my goals.

But I want to be like Chase and the other boys … I may have had a shaky start, but I want to have a big finish! I want my life to count for something with Him. When I stand before Him, I want to hear Him say, “Well done Joyce my girl … well done!”

Photobucket

Lord, I do so desire to make a difference for you. So many times, we hear the thought of … what’s in your dash … those dashes from the day of birth to the day of death. There has been a lot of stuff in those days that I am not proud of, but Lord, you have cleaned my slate and now my focus in life is to share your hope, healing, and love with those who are hurting, those who are searching, those who don’t know you. Father, you have begun a good work in me, but I am so thankful that you aren’t finished with me yet.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Photobucket

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

 

Leave a Reply

