Chase Spit On Me

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise— “that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.” Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.
Ephesians 6:1-4

The boys came home from school yesterday fighting. The first words out of Carson’s mouth to me were, “Chase spit on me.” Well, ummm, I thought, that’s not so good! But I know Chase’s heart and I know he would not spit on Carson unless he’d been thoroughly provoked. So I talked to Chase and asked him what Carson had done to him. And I was right, Carson had instigated the incident by fussing with Chase. But two wrongs don’t make a right, they both had to be punished.

So I explained to them that they would be losing their computer priviledges for the week. They both love playing Virtual Magic Kingdom online, nothing is a worse punishment than taking that away from them.

But they didn’t fuss. They accepted the consequences of their actions without so much as a whine. Truthfully, I was suprised, but pleasantly so.

Today, when they came home, they went into Chase’s room to hang out. No fighting, they were just chattering away. A while later, out they came and marched downstairs to play some ping pong. They were having a great time, hanging out and playing together

I was so tickled to watch them. They didn’t pout around and whine to get on the computer or fuss with each other, for causing their situation. They simply accepted their fate and made the most of their afternoon.

And in the process, they actually had a great time together.

Golly, there are several lessons here, but I think the one that spoke to me was accepting the consequences of my actions. When I choose to do the wrong thing, there is going to be a consequence. I can blame the world for it, and not learn from my actions, or I can be mature, accept what is happening and do my very best to learn from it and move forward.

Photobucket

Father, please give Carson and Chase an extra measure of patience with each other. I know being brothers can be trying at times. Thank you for giving me the wisdom to discipline them in a manner that will cause them to think about what they’ve done, but Lord, thank you even more for allowing their hearts to receive the discipline.

I Love You Jesus.
In Your Name I Pray,
Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

 

.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristine
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 16:36:49

    Great post, Joyce. Thanks for sharing. Darling photo!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

